Down Payment Assistance for Repeat and Existing Homeowners

If you are interested in buying a new home, we can help you with your down payment. 

At the Texas State Affordable Housing Corporation (TSAHC), we help repeat buyers and existing homeowners purchase a home. We are a nonprofit organization that was created by the Texas Legislature to help Texans achieve their dream of homeownership. Let us help you buy your dream home.

Before You Go Further

The first step to see if you qualify is to take our online Eligibility Quiz. It takes only a few minutes and you don’t need special paperwork. The quiz will let you know if you meet the program requirements and the types of assistance you qualify for. To qualify, you must have a credit score of 620 and meet certain income requirements.

Eligibility Quiz

Down Payment Assistance (DPA): What Is It? 

If you are eligible for our programs, TSAHC will provide you with a mortgage loan and funding to use for your down payment. You can choose to receive the down payment assistance as a grant (which does not have to be repaid) or a deferred forgivable second lien loan (which only has to be repaid if you sell or refinance within three years). If you’re eligible, you can essentially receive free money to help you buy a home. 

How Much Do You Have to Put Down on a House?

The amount of your down payment depends on a few things, including your income, your loan type, the amount of TSAHC assistance that you choose, the cost of the home, and how much you want to borrow. The larger your down payment, the smaller your monthly mortgage payment will be. The smaller your down payment, the larger your monthly mortgage payment. 

Your lender will help you figure out which TSAHC assistance option to choose and how much you need to put down on your house.  

Two Home Buyer Programs: Which is Right for You?

Your lender will also help you determine which TSAHC program you qualify for.  Both programs offer the same down payment assistance options. 

“Homes for Texas Heroes” Program

If you’re in a hero profession, this is the home loan program for you. Hero professions include:

  • Professional educators, which includes the following full-time positions in a public school district: school teachers, teacher aides, school librarians, school counselors, and school nurses 
  • Police officers and public security officers 
  • Firefighters and EMS personnel
  • Veterans or active military
  • Correction officers and juvenile corrections officers
  • Nursing faculty and allied health faculty

“Home Sweet Texas” Home Loan Program

If you don’t qualify under one of the professions listed above, this is the best program for you. 

Eligibility Quiz

Ready to Buy a Home? Here’s Where to Start. 

The first step is to take our quick online Eligibility Quiz. This quiz will tell you whether you’re eligible for our assistance. 

If you are eligible, the quiz will then direct you to contact a participating lender in your area.  The lender will help you fill out the application. You will not submit anything directly to TSAHC. 

You will also be required to complete an approved home buyer education course before closing on your home. We don’t require you to work with a specific REALTOR®, but you can use this search tool to find a REALTOR® familiar with our programs. 

What People Are Saying About TSAHC's Programs

“Buying a home is the biggest financial decision we’ve ever made, and we couldn’t have done it without the down payment grant we received from TSAHC.  I’m so grateful to loan officer Stacy Schriever and REALTOR® Debbie Patterson for introducing me to TSAHC’s programs, which made it possible for our family to finally purchase a home of our own.”
    -Felicia Bolton, Home Buyer


“TSAHC’s programs make homeownership possible for many Texas families.  I am proud to be a participating loan officer in TSAHC’s programs so I can help families like the Pilgrims achieve their lifelong dream of buying a home.”
    -Nicole Newton, Loan Officer with Prime Lending


"Buying a home can be overwhelming, but I feel very blessed with my experience. I am very grateful for the guidance that my loan officer Tina Chumley, and REALTOR® Chelcy Gilliland provided during the home buying process. I am also thankful for TSAHC, whose programs helped me buy a home in my neighborhood so my son didn’t have to change schools."
    -Ellie Moss, Home Buyer